I Dislike Writing, But I Could Read All Day

My crowded bookcase

I had all the best intentions. I just didn’t do very well on following through this time. School ended and I breathed a sigh of relief, a sigh that has apparently lasted months. I stopped writing because I no longer had a grade riding on it. I didn’t stop reading, that has always been my favorite pastime, something I do even when it might affect my grades. Good thing grades aren’t an issue anymore.

Some of the books I read in the past few months are not within the genre of this blog. Yet I am a creature of habit, I still tend to gravitate towards the young adult section. I don’t think it is something I will ever grow out of. In the past four months I have read at least 30 young adult books. With that many qualifying for review it can be daunting to think of catching up. It is a little too much for me to do especially since I continue to read more eligible books.

Truth be told, I don’t like writing as much as I used to. Stifle yours gasps, I know it is appalling to find an English major that doesn’t like writing. Something fell out of place during my second year of school. At the time I was writing in an online RPG, taking full time classes with plenty of writing and I still managed to pump out a poem or two when the mood hit. Whack! Suddenly my slight aversion to excessive writing became a full fledged dislike of all writing. I quit the RPG, I turned in the minimum pages and my poetry inspiration seemed to run dry. I’m still not sure how I made it through my last four semesters of school, I was taking all English classes and the writing never seemed to end.

Finally in December I wrote my last undergraduate paper and took my last test. All I wanted to do was take a break, a brain break, where I could turn off deep thinking for awhile and enjoy some serious vegging. It has been nice,  but I let the break continue for much longer than it should have. As scientists say, an object in motion tends to stay in motion, and the same goes for an object at rest. When I’m going I tend to go a million miles a minute, when I am resting the resting can go to the other extreme. I’m working on breaking the cycle, bear with me as I work it out.

So this is me, saying sorry for the wait. I hope I can write more reviews to help you choose good books for you and the young adults in your life.

One response to “I Dislike Writing, But I Could Read All Day

  1. It’s not unusual to find during college that your passions shift. That is not to say that you won’t shift back. Enjoy the time away and when the mood strikes start writing again.

Leave a Reply

